Hunger Games

Yesterday, I read all 3 Hunger Games books. I promised myself I read the first book before the movie came out, and that steamrolled into reading all 3. (Hunger Games, Catching Fire, Mockingjay).

Spoiler Alert: I will be talking about details from all three books.

image

Overall, I liked book 1 the most and thought the following two books declined in quality from there.  I was the most frustrated by how powerless Katniss seemed by book 3 and as the books went on she seemed to be less in control and less herself.  I thought the ending was too abrupt, and was especially frustrated how simplistic the unraveling of her friendship with Gale was portrayed.

The most persistant idea throughout all of my readings was how much the books reminded me of all the other books (and movies) that I had read (or seen) over the years:

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

For the brutality that they expected from children,  the behind the scenes machinations of the governments and the utter unhinging the characters have due to their own actions.

Slaughterhouse-five by Kurt Vonnegut
The bombing of 12, made think of the Dresden fire bombs.

Captain America (the movie)
How when Katniss becomes the symbol of the rebellion, she is used as a movie actress.

The Song of the Lioness series by Tamora Pierce
A strong soldier-girl torn between 2 loves.

What did you think? What books did the Hunger Games remind you of?

One thought on “Hunger Games

  1. I’m currently just over half way through book two and despite loads of reports telling me that 2 wasn’t quite as good as 1 I am so far enjoying it maybe even more than the first. For me, the higher stakes makes for more tension and I love that I now feel like I really know these characters. I think (so far) I agree with you though that I am not completely satisfied with the way Gale’s character has looped in and out of the story and if he falls of the map I will be quite sad!!

Leave a Reply

