Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore

My library haul

Every once and awhile I find a book that despite reading the brief plot summary I was utterly unprepared for story being told.  It happened with The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, it happened again with Paper Towns by John Green, and with Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese.  And it happened this week when I read Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore (Thank you Erin, via Tante Ree).  Even though, Erin told me what it was about, I did not expect the characters nor the plot.  Every so often it’s fun to get a surprise while reading. For example, the book made computer programming sound lyrical!

Honestly, I don’t know if I can even explain in words why the book was so fun to read.  It’s possible it’s because it involved a lot of nerdy things that relate to my personal family lore. And, yes I plan to just write them in a list:

fanboy/fangirling about books from your teenage years

Graphic design

secret codes

information

data visualization

bookstores

grumpy old sages

designers

If you want to read a more coherent review check out my sister’s response here,

4 thoughts on “Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore

Leave a Reply

