Happy Birthday Pride and Prejudice

Today is the 200th anniversary of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  My corner of the internet is bursting at the seams with joy and articles. Like this one. Or this one. And Npr.

I actually saw the BBC mini-series first, because my (Lamppost) friends were aghast that my sisters and I had not seen it yet. I remember liking the movie, and deciding to read the book (perhaps also due to You’ve Got Mail).  The book was so much better. I remember being surprised that Lizzie was so young and impulsive (versus the movie), which actually made her hating Darcy make more sense. Additionally, Book!Mrs. Gardiner is wise and awesome and not replicated in the movie adaptions well at all.  Since my first introduction, I’ve re-read the book several times, though perhaps not as many times as some (*coughToricough*) and watched the 2005 adaption. (And no, Mom, despite the movie’s portrayal she didn’t fall in love with Mr. Darcy just because his house was big.)

It’s still one of the greatest love stories of all time because Fitzwilliam Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet see each other as equals and both bring out the best version of the other.  (I can’t give them the top prize, because I’m still rather partial to Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe, personally.) It’s also partly due to Jane Austen’s snark and wisdom.  So thank you Jane Austen! And if you haven’t yet, read the book!

 

Finally, a bonus gift from the adaption getting the character transformation the most right so far (especially Pemberley!).

When did you first read Jane Austen?

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Pride and Prejudice

  1. I didn’t read P&P until I was an adult, which I find amazing, that it was never offered in school, considering what a classic it truly is.

Leave a Reply

