The Fault in Our Stars

On the surface The Fault in Our Stars is a story of two teenagers (Hazel and Augustus) who fall in love (two teenagers who happen to have cancer.)  My initial thought was that it would be a sad depressing novel.  I mean, it’s about Cancer, it can’t end well, can it?

I should have known better, since it was John Green. Really, the book is about hope and our legacies.  I finished the book 11 days ago, and I’m still struggling to explain what I learned from it.  I mean I cried buckets, but still loved the whole book.

I still don’t have coherent thoughts, so here are some things that stuck with me the whole read:

  • I spent a lot of the book wondering what it must be like for the parents of Hazel and Augustus, and how their parents seemed to be parenting even when their children had cancer.  Hazel’s parents reminded me a little bit of the parents in Easy A. They are sarcastic and normal.
  • The wry sense of humor exhibited by both Hazel and Augustus was truly a delight to read.
  • The cancer kid support group.
  • It spoke a lot about our legacy in the world, our friendships and how we influence others. One of the more important quotes is, “The marks humans leave are too often scars.” 

Some internet treats for you all. Here’s John Green the author reading the first chapter out loud:

Ashley Clements and Daniel Vincent Gordh read aloud a pivotal segment as part of the Evening of Awesome:

One thought on “The Fault in Our Stars

Leave a Reply

