Poem #1 of NaPoWriMo

My sister and I are writing 30 poems in 30 days as part of National Poetry Writing Month (NaPoWriMo).  At this point, I’m not planning to share all of my poems here. I may do a weekly summary post or I may share only the highlights. I haven’t decided yet. I am planning to share my first poem today.

If you would like to participate, all you have to do is write a poem every day. You don’t even have to share it with anyone. Haikus totally count! Today’s prompt from the official blog was to use the first line of a famous poem.  My first line is from the poem about Strider from Lord of the Rings. We had a movie marathon this weekend, it’s stuck in my brain.

1

All that is gold does not glitter
things aren’t always what they seem.
Are we worse or are we better?
Is this conflict losing steam?

And if this were a story,
and if this were the plot,
we would see the rising action
or have reached the denouement!

I’ve been in a dither, lately
reading too much into things;
Every moment’s not a pivot,
we do not know what it brings.

Would you care to join us?

