20

My laptop ‘a’ key is sticking
it works sporadically at best
I wonder what I’ll be missing
if the key can’t pass the test

My new name would be annoying
k’yl’, sounds like murder or a boy
in m’th no more ‘dding, subtr’cting
c’n’d’ would sound more like a toy

It reminds me back to high school
this book called “Ella Minnow Pea”
Where there’s an alphabet statue
so begins, a letter falling spree

Dutifully, worshipfully
the town drops sounds from their speech
until all speak gibberishly
despite the voices who beseech

I am grateful for my language,
I am grateful for my voice
May they cause minimal damage
May we always have a choice

Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn

Leave a Reply

