Peonies

twin peonies

peonies

peony up close

peony

peony up close 2
I never would have picked them
not in a million years
these Peonies look too much like
a Prima donna from Swan Lake
pirouetting off our porch
or a sweet spring bride
blushing
at meeting her newly minted
husband

I thought I gave up
pale pink
after I moved from my
childhood bedroom
to my teenage room
with a lofted bed
and black and white stripes throughout

But, yesterday when the
drooping
buds busted out;
their sepal
home no longer
containing their joy inside
I was glad
our sweet pink
peonies live
with us

One thought on “Peonies

Leave a Reply

