Quiet, follow up

In the book Quiet by Susan Cain one thing that stuck with me was the idea of negotiating with yourself to do “extoverted things” in small doses and then giving yourself permission to return to your preferred activity without guilt.

I’m really proud of myself today, because I did that.

I’m taking a class for my job this week that I hoped would be half educational half networking.  The first two days my nervousness to be a student again meant I didn’t speak up and felt like I was failing at networking. But today, we had a speaker this morning and when we broke for lunch, I approached her and initiated a conversation.

This is a pretty big deal for me. 
Have you done anything brave this week?  I’m cheering for you!

4 thoughts on “Quiet, follow up

  1. i took Ciaran to the Wednesday farmer’s market downtown today…road construction and downtown one-ways and all. car seat, stroller, diaper bag….a fairly large outing for us. plus we met friends and were on time! I like the new look of your blog, by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

