Thoughts on Things that I have Read Recent-ish

I’ve been attempting to catch up on reading recently, here are some books that I’ve read in the past couple months:

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith aka JK Rowling

This book was fairly standard private eye detective novel in format, however it differs slightly because Rowling is a master at drawing characters and creating a complex world. Despite the fact that the story is heavy on character development and low on plot it kept me enthralled throughout. Also I have a soft spot for mysteries I can’t quite figure out; I was close but I didn’t solve it before the end. Jk Rowling is a little bit of a sassy narrator and I had a couple of moments while I was reading it that I thought “this almost like if Jane Austen wrote a modern mystery novel.” The best news is that Rowling admitted that this is the first of a series, so huzzah for that!

Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

I read this book in one-ish sitting over my birthday weekend. It was a fun summer read because it completely immersed you in world of several extremely rich and mysterious families in Hong Kong. It was a completely different world than I was used to and most of the book was rather funny. Be careful though, the characters are constantly eating out and man did it make me crave Chinese/Malaysian/any ethnic food not offered where I live.

The Cold Dish (A Walt Longmire mystery) by Craig Johnson
A lot of my family loves this author, so I started the series. The book made me feel like I was back in Wyoming which I was missing since we visited last summer. I got a little bit frustrated at Walt because he’s not the best narrator of his own life (he dropped the name of his dead wife chapters before he told us who she was), but once I got used to his style I liked it.The crime in this novel was dark and was a little bit too much like my work for a summer read, but I was also surprised by the ending.

Let’s Pretend this Never Happened A mostly true Memoir by The Blogess aka Jenny Lawson

I’m a sucker for funny lady comedy essays (think Mindy Kaling and Tina Fey), so I was excited to start this one. Jenny is a funny narrator but much more vulgar than Mindy or Tina, there were many (hilarious) F-bombs. I loved the first couple of chapters, I couldn’t stop laughing and read most of it out loud to Josh. I got a little bogged down in the middle of the book. Some of the stories of anxiety were sort of endearing when she was a kid, but harder to read about an adult. The last third of the book was easier to read. I started this book in May and finished in July, which is way longer than it typically takes me to get through a book. It definitely helps you feel like your life is way less crazy and ridiculous than someone else’s.

Wonder by RJ Palacio
A book about a 10-year-old kid, August aka Auggie, born with a craniofacial anomaly and going to school for the first time. I’m not going to lie Auggie made me laugh out loud because of some of the things he said, and also because he was obsessed with Star Wars and goofy kid jokes. The book also shared perspective of some of Auggie’s friends and family. I imagine this book would be beneficial for anyone who works with kids to think about bullying and bravery. I especially found it helpful for anyone who is involved in a therapeutic relationship (Nurses, psychologists, OTs, PTs, SLPs, etc.) with complex kids because it provided an inside look at some of the key player’s perspectives. The book was a little heavy-handed with its moral by the end of the book, but by that point you loved the people so much you didn’t really mind.

Up Next: The Son by Philipp Meyer (multigenerational family saga and Texas)

One thought on “Thoughts on Things that I have Read Recent-ish

Leave a Reply

