My mother warned me not to (and other truths)

Latergram. Glitternails.

A post shared by kayla (@kayceedubs) on

generally
it’s best not to
mix alcohol with
painting
projects

my mother warned me not to
but yesterday
we mixed margaritas
with hair dye

generally
when painting your nails
“separate your fingers”
“be patient”
“wave them
about!”
“let it dry
before touching
anything!”

my mother warned me not to
but I did Yoga today;
in glitter
fingers&toes
still slightly tacky

(of note: my mom gives much better advice than this, I exaggerated her advice for the cause of literary devices.
additionally: this poem feels incomplete currently, and probably someday I’ll revise it, but I’m sharing it right now “as is.” any idea what it’s missing (another example? a lesson?) )

One thought on “My mother warned me not to (and other truths)

Leave a Reply

