NaPoWriMo Reflection

 

What was your favorite “Kayla” poem?

Kayla I think I’m proudest of my itunes poem, because I followed the prompt but I think it sounded like an actual poem.

Erin Favorites are had to pick. So hard. But for Kayla my favorites were For Erin (Farewell Words of April) because I know exactly how that feels, and it is quite nice to have poems about someone appreciating you; Introvert Friendship, a guide, in verse, because as an extrovert I need all the help I can get; iTunes Shuffle Poem, take 2, because it is the best love life advice ever and worded perfectly; and then everything else you wrote because reading your poems was kind of like doing life together through poem echos.

What was your favorite “Erin” poem?

Kayla I tend to love everything that Erin writes, but I had the strongest emotional reaction to “Graduation” (made me almost cry about post-graduation friendship diaspora) and “Long Distance”/“Details” (punch in the gut sadness for Long Distance Dating.)

Erin  Of my own poetry, my favorites are as follows: An Unexpected Encounter (because I managed to capture the moment so exactly right) , Long Distance (because I still like it after all the rereads) , Tutus and Boots (because it made someone want to commission art. How neat! Also because it was about tutus and boots and who doesn’t enjoy that), Hope (because I wasn’t expecting it to actually work so well), Deep Roots (because I never thought it could turn out so well), and Graduation (because it captures the feels so well).

What did you learn from NaPoWriMo?

Kayla: This year I was surprised by how much easier it was to come up with poem ideas, since I saved up inspiration during the months leading up to April. It’s also possible that writing poems all summer/reading more poetry also helped. This year I spent a lot of time thinking about literary devices and wishing I understood them better, so as to use them more seamlessly.

Erin:  I would like to say that I learned amazing new forms of poetry and finally mastered writing in iambic pentameter (something I have never yet managed because for the life of me I cannot count) but mostly I learned about myself. Doing NaPoWriMo again was like coming back to an old friend and going on an adventure. I wasn’t scared about being able to come up with something to write, and my insides didn’t twist from guilt when I missed a day. I didn’t have to prove that I could do it, I just had fun. I found that I am not only more comfortable with my own abilities, but also with not beating myself up over perceived failures. Was missing a few days a failure? I don’t think so. I still wrote more poems in April than I have in any other month. I still was inspired to write more poetry. I still got to play poem tag with my sister and learn about her through the word snap shots she posted. And I had fun. How could that be failure?

Any other thoughts?

Kayla This month made me consider buying and reading poetry magazines more to support poets. It also made me dream/hope that I could write a cool enough poem to be published. I also wanted to have a better understanding of poetry’s history and form, so I went on the Internet searching for classes, and as part of Yale’s open courses online they have a poetry class that I might try out this summer.

Erin Early in April I met another poet and we had a disagreement about the worth of NaPoWriMo. He had just published a book and was very proud to detail how every poem in the book had gone through 100 revisions each. So of course NaPoWrimo, a month of writing a poem a day and posting it to the internet with barely any time for revision, was a horrendous betrayal of the poetic art form and one more thing to add to the pile of things wrong with modern poetry (right after not writing in meter). I thought he missed the entire point of NaPoWriMo. We don’t write a poem a day so that we end April with 30 perfectly edited poems. We do NaPoWriMo to fight writers block, and to feel connected with loved ones far away, and to give ourselves enough rough drafts to find something worth editing. The point is not perfection, but inspiration.

Finally, We want to thank you all for commenting, talking to us about our poems in person and reading along during April. Art matters and we want to encourage you to write poems too!

To find all of our poems in one convenient location click here to go to our Storify list.

One thought on “NaPoWriMo Reflection

  1. I like that you both take on the challenge at all, thinking through each idea and making a creative effort with it. It’s always fun to read what you’ve come up with!

Leave a Reply

