Summer of Books

My people know me, these were all the books I got for my birthday...

My people know me, these were all the books I got for my birthday…

 

I’m calling it now: This summer is the Summer of Books. To be fair, reading books is how I usually spend my free time, and especially my summers. But, I have a pretty good feeling about this summer in particular for a couple reasons: 1) On the last day before summer break, I traded my co-worker 2 books for 7 books 2) For the last two months past the books that I stumbled upon to read have been stellar!

On that note, here are quick reviews of some of the awesome books I’ve read the last couple months:

 

One More Thing: Stories and other Stories by BJ Novak

B.J. Novak is a fairly well known entity due to his past roles as writer/actor from the American Office and as the other half of the most hilarious BFF-dom with Mindy Kaling. He wrote some pretty fabulous episodes from The Office (Diversity Day, The Fire, Boys and Girls to name 3.) Anyway, combine his stellar comedy past, with the fact that his user name on Instagram ( a VISUAL social media account) is Picturesoftext, you have a recipe for quirky, weird, ironic and ridiculous stories.

As a litmus test, if this 3-sentences story makes you laugh you’re in for a treat:

bj novak book screenshot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

I don’t want to give too much away, but this book made me stay up way past my bedtime to finish (which it’s been awhile since I got that engrossed in a book.) This book involved boarding schools, secret societies, metaphor, elaborate pranks, deeply flawed characters, large and quirky vocabularies and feminism. It stuck around in my head for days and days afterwards, which led me to pick up……

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

The main characters Cady had a “A terrible accident” that she can’t remember because of her traumatic brain injury. The whole book is a game of “real or not real” because  Cady says crazy things as she slowly remembers what happened. The whole time I knew something terrible had happened  I didn’t see the ending coming (some other people saw the ending coming but still enjoyed the book.) My  friend’s out of town book club is reading and discussing  it this summer, I’m excited to hear how it goes because it seems like it would be a really awesome book group book.

The Best Bad Luck I Ever Had by Kristin Levine

A quiet, beautiful story of coming of age and inter-racial friendship in Alabama in 1917.  The book had echos of To Kill A Mockingbird.  The main character Dit is very sweet and sincere and it is a joy to read his character growth throughout the story.  I literally could not wipe the smile off my face as I was reading the story. I never would have picked this book up if it wasn’t suggested to me, and I’m just so glad that I read it.

 

Stay tuned I’m sure there will be more books, after all it’s the summer of Books……

Read anything hilarious or profound or interesting or lovely recently?

Also, I use goodreads, do you?

2 thoughts on “Summer of Books

  1. Don’t know goodreads. I do pick up Book Pages at the library each month. Looks like a great summer! Also, BJ Novak was great in Saving Mr Banks…..

Leave a Reply

