Number 1 for 2015

excerpt from my gmail pre-lent

excerpt from my gmail pre-lent

My Millennial Isolation

My Facebook fast for Lent
did not quiet my head
from the static.
Even though, I did not
sift through
self-focused minutiae
each day for clues.

I did not feel clear-headed,
nor see with clarity
Even though, my stream of information
did not continue unbarricaded,
and my news collection was
not gathered neatly
for consumption.

I was not able to friendship
unhindered,
I did not enter conversations at the beginning
but the middle,
And yet, people did not
modify their stories for my
lack of prior digital knowledge.
And yet, stiflingly, I did not feel merited
to ask people
to repeat in person
what was already
posted online.

My love language is not civility, but communication;
My currency is not dollars, but details.

1 of 30 for 2015. The NaPoWriMo prompt for today was to describe something by using negation. Check for Erin’s poems here.

3 thoughts on “Number 1 for 2015

  1. “I did not enter conversations at the beginning
    but the middle,” Lovely writing, and relevant as ever 🙂

Leave a Reply

