Number 3 for 2015

Nostalgia

A Kelly Clarkson sighting on tv on Wednesday night
brought me back to teenage bedroom jamming in spring sunlight
pouring over lyrical co-writers and liner notes
gleaning identity and self-worth by doodling quotes

And lately even at my most musical fangirl self
I can’t love things without becoming cynical myself
but you never do forget your first (musical) crush
Now, every time I hear Kelly C I still get that rush

Whew, just made it in time. Today’s prompt was to write a Fourteener, which is defined by 14 syllables per line. Don’t forget to check out Erin’s poem as well.

Leave a Reply

