Poem 16 for 2015

You can measure my executive function
a barometer, of sorts
by the number of books half read

when life gets overwhelming and crazy
my pile of books grows
a barometer, of sorts

and right now, I’m in the middle of seven
I picked up a few more last week-
my pile of book grows

I read wherever there’s that spark
and save others for a perfect moment
I picked up a few more last week

at the library, for therapy reasons
my life is a freaking tornado
and save others for a perfect moment

if you are looking closely, friend,
my life is a freaking tornado
You can measure my executive function,
by the number of books half read

Poem 16’s prompt was to write a terzanelle, which follows this pattern of repeated lines:
ABA
bCB
cDC
dED
eFE
fAFA or fFAA

You can read Erin’s poems here.

One thought on “Poem 16 for 2015

Leave a Reply

